Alaska Idaho Montana North Dakota Oregon South Dakota Washington Wyoming
Northwest Section
of The Ninety-Nines
The international organization of women pilots.


We give the following awards to honor the women who have been a part of our Ninety-Nines flying history, and to inspire us all to continue in the great tradition and spirit of this group.

Nominations are due by July 15 of each year to the respective chairs.

Amelia Earhart Memorial Scholarship Fund

The Ninety-Nines Amelia Earhart Memorial Scholarship Fund (AEMSF) was established in 1940 to help members attain specific and realistic goals in their advancement toward aviation/aerospace accomplishments.

These goals may qualify for or further an aviation-related profession or charitable cause. Financial need must be demonstrated in order to progress toward a goal. (The Vicki Cruse Scholarship is excluded from this requirement.) One pilot training course, certificate or rating can be applied for at a time. The Fund is intended to extend opportunities to as many members as possible, although current or past scholarship winners may submit application for any scholarship or award for which they are eligible, and may be awarded scholarships in consecutive years.

How To Apply:

Complete details and eligibility requirements can be obtained at

Past Recipients of the Amelia Earhart Memorial Scholarship Fund:

2017: Shari Kontra
Idaho Chapter, Multi-engine
2017: Tosha Cypher
Mat-Su Valley Chapter, CFI helicopter
2017: Alana Erickson
Idaho Chapter, ME Commercial add-on

Mountain Flying/Backcountry Scholarship

The Northwest Section donated the money for this scholarship in the name of the Montana Chapter, to honor them for their great job hosting the 2013 International 99s conference in Bozeman.

Past Recipient of the Mountain Flying/Backcountry Scholarship:

2015: Cindy Fritz
Cindy is active in the Idaho Aviation Association's efforts to maintain backcountry airstrips.

Northwest Section Scholarship

The Northwest Section Scholarship fund was created in 2013 from funds that the Section held in investment accounts. The scholarship is awarded annually for $1,000 or the amount requested, whichever is less. Scholarship monies can be applied toward aviation expenses greater than $1,000, such as an additional rating or course of study, if the applicant clearly states there are sufficient funds from other sources to complete her training. Examples are instrument or commercial rating, emergency maneuver training, ground school, initial pilot certificate (so YES!!! student pilots may apply), or tailwheel instruction.

How To Apply:

To apply for the Northwest Section Scholarship, please download the following application and follow the given instructions. The deadline for this year's application has been extended to February 28, 2017. Good luck!

Scholarship Application - PDF Format Northwest Section Scholarship Application

Past Recipients of the Northwest Section Scholarship:

2017: Candyce Goudey
Candyce Goudey of the Intermountain Chapter will train for her CFI rating.
2017: Laura Lloyd
Laura Lloyd of Columbia Cascade Chapter will use her scholarship for her instrument rating.
2016: Li Yang
Li Yang of the Columbia Cascade chapter will use her scholarship for floatplane training.
2016: Miranda Edwards
Miranda Edwards of the Montana chapter used her scholarship for training for her instrument rating.
2015: Vanessa Nelson
Vanessa Nelson of the Oregon Pines chapter was the recipient of our first Northwest Section Scholarship. She flies the J3 Cub that belonged to her dad, which she restored in 2011. Vanessa will use her scholarship for skiplane instruction.
Share This Page: